Skip to content


Visa to Greenland and the Faroe Islands

Greenland and the Faroe Islands are not members of Schengen. Denmark represents these two countries.

If you are travelling to these destinations, you will need a special visa issued at the Danish Embassy.

Visa to Iceland

Denmark does not represent Iceland for the moment. Please consult with the Icelandic Directorate of Immigration. 

Applying for VISA

From the 1st of July 2019, you should fill in your visa application and pay the application fee online.

After you have applied and paid the visa fee online, you must print and sign the cover letter from ApplyVisa and hand in supporting documents and supply biometrics at the Visa Application Centre. See VFS’ homepage for locations.

You must submit your visa application in person.

At VFS they will take your biometrics. If you have had your biometrics recorded within the last 59 months with the specific purpose of obtaining a Schengen visa, they may be reused provided the quality of the fingerprints is satisfactory.

Applicants should note that we operate with a limited weekly quota of 50, so early booking with VFS is recommended in order to secure a visa before your travel date.

Please do not contact the Embassy for updates on the status of your application within the first 15 days after submission.


You should only contact the Embassy, if you have new information in relation to your application. Please make sure to identify yourself.


Third Party

Data protection rules prevent the Embassy from giving information about ongoing visa applications to any third party. In this context hosts are considered third party.


For enquiries about how to apply for a visa, please see other page on this site.

If you did not find an answer to your question, you are welcome to write to
[email protected] or call +234 (0) 99036636  Monday through Thursday between 14:00 - 15:30.