Skip to content

Visa to Denmark

A visa is intended to allow a foreign national to visit Denmark for a period of time limited to a maximum of 90 days in any 180-day period. If you wish to visit Denmark for longer than that, you must apply for a residence permit.

A visa issued by the Danish Embassy is a Schengen visa which allows the holder to stay in the entire Schengen area.

Holders of a Schengen visa are still subject to immigration control and are not guaranteed entry into any of the Schengen countries, even though they may hold a valid visa for these countries.

The issue of a Schengen visa is discretionary and depends on an examination of each individual application, including aspects like purpose of visit and intention to return to home country among others.

A decision to approve or reject a visa application is made in accordance with the guidelines set out in the Schengen Visa Code and the Danish Executive Order on Visas.

For more detailed information, see other pages of this homepage or visit the website of the Danish Immigration Service (DIS)

Visa to Greenland and the Faroe Islands

Greenland and the Faroe Islands are not members of Schengen. Denmark represents these two countries.

If you are travelling to these destinations, you will need a special Schengen visa issued at the Danish Embassy.

Visa to Iceland

Denmark does not represent Iceland for the moment. For further information, please call the Embassy.

Who needs visa

See page about who requires a visa.