Skip to content

General information regarding visa

Holders of a passport from Nigeria will need a visa for entering Denmark and other countries in the Schengen area. Visa cannot be issued on arrival. The processing time for visa applications is normally up to 15 calendar days.

The Embassy of Denmark in Abuja handles applications for visas for Denmark (including the Faeroe Islands and Greenland) and also for Iceland.

A normal Schengen visa is not valid for the Faroe Islands or Greenland. If you are travelling to these destinations you will need to have a special Schengen visa issued at the Danish Embassy.

The Schengen Visa is the representative of the collective of 26 European countries that have mutually decided to eliminate passport and immigration controls at their joint borders.

Schengen Visa Countries List
The issue of Schengen visas is discretionary and depends on examination of each individual case, including purpose of visit and intention to return.

Holders of a Schengen visa are still subject to immigration control and are not guaranteed entry into any of the Schengen countries, even though they may hold a valid visa for these countries.

A Schengen visa is not appropriate if you wish to remain in a Schengen country for longer than 3 months or take up employment or establish a business, trade or profession.

If you have not visited the Schengen area previously, a visa is normally issued for one entry. Once you have made one visit in accordance with the visa granted, you may apply for two or more entries provided you can provide the documentation for these visits.

For further information about application procedure and requirements, please view the affiliated pages. You may also consult and